Friday, May 29, 2009

Wedgwood Anniversary


Wedgwood ceramics is celebrating 250 years. The company was founded by Josiah Wedgwood in 1759. There is a wonderful new book available titled "At Home With Wedgwood: The Art Of The Table". I really like the Jasper ware cups and saucers on the front cover.For readers of Bliss Victoria magazine, there is an excellent feature on Wedgwood with beautiful photos and an interesting time line of the company. For further research check out the terrific information on Wedgwood in the Autumn 2007 issue of Tea A Magazine.


I've really enjoyed my eight place setting of Queen's Ware in the Edme pattern. I'm missing several serving pieces and find that this discontinued pattern is quite hard to find.


This appears to be a much earlier version of the Edme pattern.


I really enjoy the shape of this cup and saucer with its pedestal base.


There have also been some lovely Wedgwood Christmas ornaments over the years. My top wish list item is a miniature Jasper cup and saucer ornament to put on my tea tree.

6 comments:

Angela McRae said...

What a classy and thoroughly elegant pattern! What are you missing? I'll be happy to put it on my "watch list" for when I'm out and about!

Marilyn Miller said...

I like the shape of the cup and saucer too. What nice treasures!

Thanks for the quote today on Delights of the Heart.

Becky said...

Thanks for stopping by mt GiveAway!

Have you checked replacements [dot]com? They are based in Greensboro, NC and have EVERYthing!

You can register your pattern with them and get e-mail alerts when it is available.

Hootie said...

I think I have a little piece of Jasper Wedgewood that's a heart shaped box somewhere here in my house! I'll have to see if I can round it up and double check!

It is a beautiful, elegant little piece.

Pretty treasures!

Bernideen said...

What classic style tea wares!

Rhondi said...

I thought this was wedgewood. It looks just like it! My mother's pattern was conway and it had a flower on the side.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...